SPF 14: For the Love of God

Sunday, July 16th @ 8:00 PM PST
Written By DeLane McDuffie
Directed By Justin Lord

“Keep my name out your mouth!”
— God

DeLane McDuffie is a Southern-bred, LA-based playwright, screenwriter, and poet. His play The Inaugural was part of Lower Depth Theatre’s BIPOC Voting Plays in 2020, and he was a recipient of LDT’s 2022 “Cycle of Poverty” Commission Fellowship. Other plays include Follow the Lady, Amy & Neil, Cop & Fiske, For the Love of God, Monomachia, Granddaddy Long Legs, and The Clouds His Chariot. His work has been produced by Towne Street Theatre, showcased at the 2020 and 2022 Fade to Black Play Festivals in Houston, and the 2022 Seoul Players Play Festival in Seoul, South Korea. His short films have screened at the Canes Film Festival in Miami, Flicker Fest: Chapel Hill, and the Colossal Film Festival. He earned BA English and MFA Film degrees from Morehouse College and the University of Miami, respectively, and attended Royal Holloway, University of London.

Justin Lord’s background as an actor with numerous TV, film, music and theater credits to his name, including Division Street on Broadway, led to directing. His directing career started at American Theatre Arts in California, where he directed Sam Shepard’s Cowboy Mouth, Conrad Bishop and Elizabeth Fuller’s Full Hookup and his own adaptation of Harry Kondoleon’s The Brides. Since then he has gone on to direct in Los Angeles at venues such as the Skylight Theatre, Luna Playhouse, Inner City Cultural Center, Theater 40, Towne Street Theatre and the Stella Adler Theatre. In New York, The Negro Ensemble Co, The Public Theatre, The Billie Holiday Theatre, The National Black Theatre. His work has been seen at the Nation Black Theatre Festival in Winston Salem N.C. He has been honored with multiple award nominations for directing: Los Angeles Drama Critics Circle and The Vivian Robinson AUDELCO awards. He is a member of the Lincoln Center Theater Directors Lab.

“For the Love of God”

Raul – Raul Martinez*
Kat – Kat Kim*
God – William Warren*

*Road Company Member