Summer Playwrights Festival 11

July 30th to August 16th

From July 30th to August 12th, the Road Theatre will be presenting 26 new plays through online readings. We’d love to have you join us for this brave, new format that these challenging times have given us to work with. Anything you can give to help the Road branch out to this new festival format would be greatly appreciated by the company and the theatre community. Donate below!


The Road Theatre Company

Taylor Gilbert & Sam Anderson, Artistic Directors

The Eleventh Annual
12 Days! 30+ plays! #SPF11

Scott Alan Smith, Founding Festival Director and SPF 11 Consultant
Tracey Silver, SPF 11 Executive Director
Christian Telesmar, SPF 11 Technical Producer
Mallory Erwin, SPF 11 Festival Director
Carlyle King, Executive Producer
Darryl Johnson, Producer
Avery Clyde, Producer
Brian Majestic, Producer
Rachel Majestic, Producer
Justin Okin, Producer

The Road Theatre Company’s annual Summer Playwrights Festival has been held every summer since its inception in 2010. This year marks our 11th anniversary, and SPF11 will take place from Thursday through Sunday, starting from July 30th to August 16, 2020. SPF mounts 20-40 staged readings of new plays in 12 exciting days. The festival is now the largest staged reading festival in the nation, with playwrights from across the country and around the world participating. Each reading is followed by a talkback with the playwright, director, and cast. All readings will be held virtually due to COVID-19 restrictions. Although we receive hundreds of submissions for our festival, new and established playwrights are encouraged to submit.

The Road Theatre Company is dedicated to producing new plays. From Founding Festival Director Scott Alan Smith:

“The Road Theatre has produced 24 plays from the Summer Playwrights Festival on our main stages including our current season selection, The Spanish Prayer Book by Angela J. Davis (SPF8), and last season’s The Rescued by Julie Marie Myatt (SPF8) and Death House by Jason Karasev (SPF8). We are very proud to bring these new plays straight from the festival to our audiences.”

Past playwrights have included D.L. Coburn, Lisa Loomer, Sharr White, Marisa Wegrzyn, Craig Wright, Wendy Macleod, Lucy Thurber, Mo Gaffney, Keith Huff, Brett Neveu, Scooter Pietsch, Craig Pospisil, Julie Marie Myatt, and Martyna Majok. Guest artists have included Bryan Cranston, Laurie Metcalf, Jason Alexander, Zachary Quinto, Ann Cusack, Kathy Baker, Jennifer Tilly, Perry King, Rondi Reed, Tom Irwin, Nancy Travis, Gregory Harrison, Gale Harold, Robert Pine, Michael O’Neill, Harold Gould, Jon Polito, James Eckhouse, Lila Crawford, Zoe Perry, and many, many others.