Summer Playwrights Festival 12 Submission Info

The submission window has now closed. Be sure to check back here for our official festival announcement coming soon!

The Road Theatre Company
Taylor Gilbert & Sam Anderson, Artistic Directors

The Twelfth Annual
12 Days! 25+ plays! #SPF12

Submission Information for The Road Theatre Company’s Summer Playwrights’ Festival 2021 (SPF12)

Tracey Silver, Executive Director
Christian Telesmar, Festival Director
Darryl Johnson, Producer
Carlyle King, Producer
Ray Paolantonio, Producer
Krishna Smitha, Producer
Maurie Gonzalez, Producer
Tally McCormack, Producer

The Road Theatre Company’s annual Summer Playwrights Festival has been held every summer since its inception in 2010. This year marks our 12th anniversary, and SPF12 will take place from Thursday through Sunday, starting from July 15th to August 1, 2021. SPF mounts 20-40 staged readings of new plays in 12 exciting days. The festival is now the largest staged reading festival in the nation, with playwrights from across the country and around the world participating. Each reading is followed by a talkback with the playwright, director, and cast. All readings will be held virtually due to COVID-19 restrictions. Although we receive hundreds of submissions for our festival, new and established playwrights are encouraged to submit. The Road Theatre Company is dedicated to producing new plays.

From Executive Director Tracey Silver: “Last year we produced our first Virtual Summer Playwrights Festival to great success. While we look forward to the day we can get back into our theatre, we are grateful to everyone who has embraced this new medium.”

The Road Theatre has produced 24 plays from the Summer Playwrights Festival on our main stages including our 2019 season selection, The Spanish Prayer Book by Angela J. Davis (SPF8), and 2018 season The Rescued by Julie Marie Myatt (SPF8) and Death House by Jason Karasev (SPF8). We are very proud to have brought these new plays straight from the festival to our audiences. We look forward to bringing more festival plays to our mainstage.”

Past playwrights have included William Mastrosimone, Harrison David Rivers, Jami Brandli, Lisa B. Thompson, Franky D. Gonzalez, D.L. Coburn, Lisa Loomer, Sharr White, Marisa Wegrzyn, Craig Wright, Wendy Macleod, Lucy Thurber, Mo Gaffney, Keith Huff, Brett Neveu, Scooter Pietsch, Craig Pospisil, Julie Marie Myatt, and Martyna Majok. Guest artists have included Bryan Cranston, Laurie Metcalf, Jason Alexander, Zachary Quinto, Ann Cusack, Kathy Baker, Jennifer Tilly, Perry King, Rondi Reed, Tom Irwin, Nancy Travis, Gregory Harrison, Gale Harold, Robert Pine, Michael O’Neill, Harold Gould, Jon Polito, James Eckhouse, Lila Crawford, Zoe Perry, and many, many others.

Submission Information:
-Each submission is read and evaluated by our artistic staff with recommendations made to the festival producers, who evaluate the plays and narrow the field to the final 20-40. Each play receives a minimum of two reads. The SPF12 staff regrets that we do not provide feedback on any submitted materials.
-Plays of any length or genre are eligible; however, to be included in SPF12, the work must remain unproduced on the west coast and unpublished through August 2, 2021.
-Early submissions are strongly encouraged.
-No agent is required.
-ONLY electronic copy applications are accepted. No hard copies, please.

Play Format Guidelines:
-All scripts must be in a PDF file format. Name your file with the title of the play first. No hard copy submissions will be accepted.
-Please put your direct contact information on your play (your name and email address).
-Plays must be paginated and include a list of characters.
-Please include a synopsis of your play on the submission form.

Submission Window:
-We will accept submissions for SPF12 between 12:01 am on November 15th, 2020, and 11:59 pm on March 15, 2021. We cannot accept any plays past this deadline, so please plan accordingly.
-Plays of all lengths (ten-minute, one-act, full-length, and solo performance) are eligible for submission during this time
-Official SPF12 selections will be made on May 1, 2021.

-$20 for scripts over 30 pages (full length) and $15 for scripts under 30 pages (short form).
-The fee can be submitted via this link. Upon payment, you will receive two emails in your inbox. The first will be a receipt of payment and the second will include details with script submission instructions.

Thank you for supporting new plays and The Road Theatre Company for SPF12! Check out this short feature on SPF9 below!