Written By DeLane McDuffie
Directed By Darryl Johnson
Buy Tickets

While waiting at the pharmacy, a curious reporter convinces some eccentric patients to participate in a public survey about their private lives.

DeLane McDuffie is a Southern-bred, LA-based playwright, screenwriter, and poet. His play The Inaugural was part of Lower Depth Theatre’s 2020 BIPOC Voting Plays, and he was a 2022 LDT “Cycle of Poverty” Play Commission Fellow. His play Follow the Lady was a finalist in The Crossroads Project’s 2024 Diverse Voices Playwriting Initiative. Other plays include Amy & Neil, Cop & Fiske, For the Love of God, Monomachia, Juice Box, and The Clouds His Chariot. His work has been produced by/at Towne Street Theatre, the 2020 and 2022 Fade to Black Play Festivals in Houston, Seoul Players Play Festival in South Korea, and The Road Theatre Company’s Summer Playwrights Festival. His short films have screened at the Canes Film Festival in Miami, Flicker Fest: Chapel Hill, Colossal Film Festival, and others. A graduate of Morehouse College and the University of Miami, he also attended Royal Holloway, University of London.

Darryl is a 20-year member of The Road has directed several plays here, including COOPERSTOWN, SMORGASBORD, JIMMY JUMPS, SOAR, THE JUNTO, A CHRISTMAS CAROL, and a plethora of staged readings. His numerous other directorial credits include: INTO THE WOODS, PIPPIN, LITTLE SHOP OF HORRORS, WORKING, THE ACTOR’S NIGHTMARE, PVT. WARS, THE CLEARING, and A YEAR WITH FROG AND TOAD at venues such as InterAct Theatre, the Met Theatre, The Tiffany, The Matrix, Theatre Neo, Fremont Centre Theatre, Yorba Linda CLO, and the McCoy Rigby Conservatory of the Arts. Darryl attended the USC Film School and the American Film Institute and has directed several films. He runs a business directing and teaching theatre to kids, including a musical theatre summer camp called TheatriCamp.


ANTONIO – Julian Armaya*
CELESTE – Cheryl Francis Harrington*
KAMAL – Stirling Nix Bradly*
IRA – Allan Wasserman*
Stage Directions – Dana Schwartz*

*Road Company Member